Lone Rider

Lone Rider
Working out at dusk in a local park. Photo credit: Jonathan Chua.

The Sigma DP2 Merrill might not be your usual camera for sports/action photography today but I enjoy using that for the genre as it forces me to re-visit old school techniques. In the film era when we did not have the benefit of 10 frames-per-second burst speed and great high ISO performance, panning and zone-focusing were the usual routine for the serious sports photographer.

This lone rider working out in a local park at dusk provided the opportunity to put the DP2M through its paces. I had just enough time to pre-focus before the rider was right in front of me. Panning at 1/13 second as he zipped past, I barely managed to get the image I wanted and a little post processing did the rest.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started