Taking The Fall

Taking The Fall
Mini waterfalls at the Kingfisher Wetlands in the Gardens by the Bay. Photo credit: Jonathan Chua.

To capture moving water with a silky smooth look, a long enough shutter speed would do the job nicely. I could use a neutral density (ND) filter or set a low ISO to slow down the shutter speed.

But I loath to pay a premium for a good IRND filter, although such would be coated to block infrared and ultraviolet light and deliver images free of colour cast. Some day perhaps I may just get around to it if water photography becomes a bigger part of my portfolio.

Instead, I had used ISO 50 to get a 1/8-second shutter speed here. Maybe this wasn’t really that long but it was apparently enough to create smooth flowing water. After a couple of hastily composed shots though, we had to run for cover as it was starting to rain.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started